Poptart, What's Our Mission?
Tagged "laura marling" | Poptart, What's Our Mission?

Poptart, What's Our Mission?

Covering the latest songs, new albums, news, and music videos. It's the best in current and alternative music.

Posts tagged "laura marling"

Hear the new song of Laura Marling, “Not Done Travelling”, using her custom-made Mya-Moe resonator ukulele.

Laura Marling did a Tiny Desk Consert for NPR's All Songs Considered. Laura played two pieces from her 2011’s ‘A Creature I Don’t Know' plus a new song called “Once.” Watch the whole performance below.

Everything music, plus plus…

Laura Marling - “All My Rage”

[Video] Laura Marling - “Night After Night”

Laura Marling performs ‘Night After Night' from her A Creature I Don’t Know album at McKittrick Hotel in New York City (December 2011).


1. Foo Fighters - Wasting Light

Wasting Light is the seventh studio album by American alternative rock band Foo Fighters, released April 12, 2011, on RCA Records. It was produced by Butch Vig and described by the band’s lead vocalist and guitarist Dave Grohl as their heaviest album yet.The title is taken from the lyrics of the song “Miss the Misery”. Guest musicians include Bob Mould and Krist Novoselic.


2. Radiohead - The King Of Limbs

The King of Limbs is the eighth studio album by English rock band Radiohead, produced by Nigel Godrich. It was self-released on 18 February 2011 as a download in MP3 and WAV formats, followed by physical CD and 12” vinyl releases on 28 March, a wider digital release via AWAL, and a special “newspaper” edition on 9 May 2011. The physical editions were released through the band’s Ticker Tape imprint on XL in the United Kingdom, TBD in the United States, and Hostess Entertainment in Japan.


3. Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds is the self-titled debut album by the English rock band Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds. Released on 17 October 2011, it is the first studio album released by eponymous frontman Noel Gallagher since his departure from Oasis in August 2009.


4. Laura Marling - A Creature I Don’t Know

A Creature I Don’t Know is the third album by British singer-songwriter Laura Marling, released on 9 September 2011. The album was announced in June 2011, along with a preview of a new song, featured in a video posted on Laura Marling’s official YouTube channel. The first track from the album to receive radio airplay was “Sophia”, on 25 July 2011 on BBC Radio 1. The “When The Bell Tolls” tour of America, Canada and England was announced on July 25, and will take place this September and October 2011 to support the album.


5. Bon Iver - Bon Iver

Bon Iver is the Grammy nominated second full-length album from American indie-folk band Bon Iver, released on June 17, 2011. Bon Iver’s second album was rumored to be Letters for Marvin but was later confirmed to be Bon Iver. The album is composed of 10 songs and takes a new musical direction. “I brought in a lot of people to change my voice — not my singing voice, but my role as the author of this band, this project,” says Justin Vernon, band leader and founder, who hired well-known players like bass saxophonist Colin Stetson and pedal-steel guitarist Greg Leisz. “I built the record myself, but I allowed those people to come in and change the scene.” The second album is described as an “ambitious musical departure” from the first. It debuted at number one on the Norwegian Albums Chart and Danish Albums Chart. Bon Iver also entered at number two on the US Billboard 200 chart, selling 104,000 copies in its first week in the United States. The album has been nominated for Best Alternative Music Album for the 54th Grammy Awards.


6. Björk - Biophilia

Biophilia is the musical project and overall eighth full-length studio album by Icelandic recording artist Björk. The album was released on 10 October 2011, over four years after her previous studio album, Volta (2007).


7. Ryan Adams - Ashes & Fire

Ashes & Fire is the thirteenth studio album by Ryan Adams, released on October 11, on PAX AM and Capitol. Recorded with producer Glyn Johns, Ashes & Fire marks Adams’ return to recording following the disbandment of backing band the Cardinals in 2009. Regarding the album, Adams noted, “The record is obsessed with time. I believe that there is a kinder view of the self. I’m passing through my own life as a ghost, and looking at these pieces and places in my life. I’m looking at California, and the idea of being lost and found at the same time.” On 16th October 2011 the album entered the UK Albums Chart at number 9, making his best position in the UK. In the US, it debuted at number 7, making Ashes & Fire his second top 10 album since Easy Tiger.


8. Red Hot Chili Peppers - I’m With You

I’m with You is the tenth studio album by American rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers. The album was released by Warner Bros. Records on August 26, 2011 in several countries and on August 29 in the US, a day earlier than originally planned. The album made its debut at number one in eighteen different countries including the United Kingdom while reaching number two in the United States and Canada.


9. The Kills - Blood Pressures

Blood Pressures is the fourth studio album by indie rock band The Kills. It was released on April 1, 2011 in the Republic of Ireland, Germany, Nordic Countries and Austria, in the UK on April 4, 2011, and in the United States on April 5, 2011.


10. Black Lips - Arabia Mountain

Arabia Mountain is the sixth studio album by American flower punk band Black Lips, released on June 7, 2011. The album was written and recorded over a nine month stretch from March 2010 to January 2011. Lockett Pundt produced “Bicentennial Man” and “Go Out and Get It,” while Mark Ronson was responsible for producing the rest. The production by Ronson was conducted first in a Brooklyn studios, but completed in Black Lip’s hometown of Atlanta due to time constraints. The music video for the first single, “Go Out and Get It,” was released on March 2. The music video for the second single, “Modern Art,” was released on April 5. “New Direction” was leaked to the public by Rolling Stone on May 16. The music video of Raw Meat is chosen by Pitchfork among The Top Music Videos of 2011.


11. Jane’s Addiction - The Great Escape Artist

The Great Escape Artist is the fourth studio album by American alternative rock band Jane’s Addiction, released on October 18, 2011, on Capitol Records. The album is their first since their 2008 reunion, and features multi-instrumentalist Dave Sitek on bass guitar, alongside Chris Chaney who rejoined the band during recording. The album has been preceded by the singles, “End to the Lies”, which was released as a free download on April 7, 2011 and “Irresistible Force” released in August 2011. Regarding the album’s title, vocalist Perry Farrell states: “I love being able to escape my past, even though my past was great. I just love the future even more.”


12. Eddie Vedder - Ukelele Songs

Ukulele Songs is the second solo studio album by American singer and Pearl Jam frontman Eddie Vedder. It was released on May 31, 2011. The album is composed of original songs and covers.

Video: Ryan Adams and Laura Marling duet on “Oh My Sweet Carolina (Live From Abbey Road )”

Laura Marling plays a new, untitled song on WNYC’s Spinning On Air